Disrupting Your Web Development Workflow

I had a chance to speak at the Iowa Javascript meetup about Web Development Workflow tools.

There are three things which have really made me reconsider and revise the process by which I organize and deploy code to servers:

  • The need to make ideas and concepts available for consumption as quickly as possible.
    I work in a lot of collaborative areas, so it is important for me to say “what about this?” in an electronic medium where people can play with it, try it out, see how it feels. So I want to maximize the time I spend building awesome new stuff, and minimize, automate, or delagate some of the operations type considerations.
  • Cloud and mobile.
    The days of deploying a site to one known server, to be viewed on a couple known desktop browsers are gone. You need to be able to scale up your app very quickly, and that’s much easier if you plan for that from the beginning. Plus, platform as a service providers make it so easy to try an experiment with different technology stacks, there’s really no reason not to start with this approach.
  • Keeping up with the craft.
    I need to keep up with the state of the art, so that I can remain vibrant, creative, and competitive in the industry.

So I shared with the group a few tools that have helped me to continue to grow in these areas:

Super Awesome Code Completion

Project Scaffolding

Platform as a Service

Browser-based online IDE

And you can see the slides here:
http://www.haikudeck.com/p/IfEWc0USxR/disrupting-your-web-dev-workflow

One thought on “Disrupting Your Web Development Workflow

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative
    and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something too few people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I found this during my search for something relating to this.

Comments are closed.